Home » AWA Graduate Student of the Year

AWA Graduate Student of the Year


Deadline for Nominations: April 15, 2018

Please fill out the Application Form

This award, valued at $500, is given to a student enrolled at the University of Alberta in a graduate diploma, masters, or doctoral program (full- or part-time) to mark scholarly achievement and contribution to the advancement of women and equity-seeking minority groups through research, scholarship, teaching, university service, and/or community involvement.


Winners of this award will be students who have already shown outstanding powers of mind; sophisticated grasp of the fields of knowledge in which they are engaged; originality and independence of their own contributions to those fields; and have demonstrated potential value of those contributions, either intellectual or practical or both, to an improved understanding of or for action on issues relevant to women, equity-seeking minority groups, and intersectionality.

  • Scholarly achievement will be assessed on the basis of candidate’s CV, transcripts, and letters of reference.
  • Quality of contribution or potential for future contribution to the advancement of women and equity-seeking minority groups in the University of Alberta community will be assessed on the basis of the applicant’s statement, CV, and letters of reference.


Please submit nomination packages to electronically the Chair of the AWA Awards Committee (carrie.smith-prei@ualberta.ca) by April 15, 2018. Self-nominations are welcome. Only complete nomination packages will be accepted and must include:

  • Nomination Form
  • Statement of eligibility, written by the candidate or nominator – maximum 1 page
  • Statement of relevant research, teaching, or service contributions written by the candidate – maximum 1 page
  • Up-to-date CV
  • Up-to-date University of Alberta transcript (unofficial, stamped transcripts are acceptable)
  • Two letters of reference

All nominations will be reviewed by the AWA’s Awards Committee and a recommendation will be forwarded to the AWA Executive for approval. The award winner will be expected to submit a photograph and a short (200 word) biographical summary for inclusion in AWA publicity and will be invited to make a brief presentation at the AWA fall meeting and awards ceremony.

Award winners

2017 :: Danika Jorgensen-Skakum, Faculty of Arts
2012 :: Ayesha Mian, Faculty of Education
2011 :: Lisa Prins, MACT, Faculty of Extension
2005 :: Keri Flesaker
2004 :: Emily Bell
2003 :: Valerie Henitiuk, Comparative Literature
2002 :: Audrey Giles, Physical Recreation and Education
2001 :: Febe Dalipe Pamonag, History & Classics
2000 :: Chelsea Hermus, Biological Sciences
1999 :: Michelle Tracy, Human Ecology

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: